“Until I discovered cooking, I was never really interested in anything.” ― Julia Child

Well last night was my first ever Edinburgh Cake Ladies event. The Edinburgh Cake Ladies are a group of ladies who meet and eat cake, sounds fab right? I have to admit I was really nervous about going. Would they be nice, would they like me, would they like my cake?

Within the first 30 seconds of entering Earthy Foods (which is a lovely place up on Causewayside go check it out) I realised that my worries were for nothing. They could not have been more welcoming, I instantly felt at home with these ladies. They  made sure that I was introduced to everyone that was there already.

We started laying out our cakes. Beside them we put the name of the cake , our name and twitter name (if we had one).

Wow what a selection!

Cakey Selection

We gathered around and started taking pictures. The smell was amazing!

After they had all been laid out we tucked in. So many cakes to choose from. Every single one was nice. Although after four slices I was stuffed.

I was reassured that this is a common newbie problem, next time I do some stomach stretching exercises.  I did however take home a doggy bag , I say bag it was a box full, as you can see below!

I had such a sugar high afterwards. This produced some really really strange dreams, including one where my boss made me sing my way through the whole day at work.

I have to admit, it will be hard to remember everyone’s name. So many faces so much cake. However I look forward to chatting to the cake ladies on twitter.

Thank you so much to everyone who was so nice and welcoming. I look forward to the next one!

Leave a Reply

