It’s fun to get together and have something good to eat at least once a day. That’s what human life is all about — enjoying things. – Julia Child

Well I’ve not updated for a while it’s been a bit of a busy week. I spent the weekend up in Dundee and went out for a lovely meal with my mum to an Italian restaurant called Bellini . The food and service were fantastic. I had the pate to start and penne amatriciana to follow. I was contentedly full afterwards. Here’s a picture of the pate – it’s a bit dark though.

Then today we had a bake sale at work for International Women’s Day – all money was going to Oxfam Scotland. I decided to try two new recipes yummy oat biscuits called melting moments and a delicious lemon griestorte. Both are recipes from Mary Berry’s Baking Bible and both were relatively easy to make. The griestorte does not have any flour in the cake and uses semolina and ground almonds instead. It was very light and a little bit crumbly. I think if I was to make it again I would double the recipe because when it was sliced in half it was very thin.

Does anyone have a good tip to stop your cakes from ending up thick at one side and thin at the other? I have a feeling it’s because I have a gas oven. Oh well it tasted good anyway!

The melting moments were nice too and tasted kind of like a hobnob.

We had so many cakes as you can see. The lemon griestorte is the one with the raspberries and the melting moments are just behind!

My foodie partner in crime at work, Edinburgh Food Girl , had made the most yummy chocolate cupcakes. They were sooooo chocolatey and yummy!

Fiona’s daughter made posh crispy cakes (crispy cakes with plain chocolate) which were lovely and our volunteer Maureen made two types of caramel shortcake. Regular and glutton free. So we had plenty to chose from. We made £68 for Oxfam which was great and we also had lots of cake to eat which is a good problem to have!

One Comment Add yours

  1. fiona says:

    You could try turning it around half way through?

Leave a comment