There are few hours in life more agreeable than the hour dedicated to the ceremony known as afternoon tea. ~Henry James,

It’s been another busy week so that’s why I haven’t updated. I had a lovely meal at La Favorita last Thursday. To start we had Anitpasti Alla Favorita. A mixture of meats, cheese, dips and nibbles. It was lovely. Not what I would usually order either. I’m usually pretty safe, always having garlic mushrooms or maybe pate. This was lovely and a chance to try something new.

For my main I had Torre di Pollo – chicken breast stuffed with leaks and gorgonzola, served with fesh tagliolini which had a mushroom sauce. It was lovely it chicken nice and tender and the pasta was beautiful. I could have happily eaten the pasta on it’s own.

For dessert I had white and dark chocolate mousse and a latte. Creamy, rich , smooth and delicious. All in all a lovely meal. The staff very friendly and there was a great atmosphere.

Today I had an afternoon off work and what better way to spend it than having afternoon tea with my sister.

We had cheese , ham and ham and cheese sandwiches to start. Accompanied by an array of crisps. My niece Elizabeth’s favourites were the lime and coriander chutney poppadoms.
After sandwiches came cakes. YUM!!!

Cakes Cake Cakes

My sister had made rasberry and white chocolate fairy cakes and fudge slices. Both very delicious. I brought two of the cupcakes home with me, one for my boyfriend and one for me. He ate his first and then paced around the kitchen asking “when are you going to eat yours?” Needless to say I only got half of my cupcake.

I made empire biscuits in the shape of chickens and bunnies. Empire biscuits are really easy to make. All you need is 75g of butter, 25g of sugar and 100g of self raising flour. You cream the butter and sugar together and then add the flour. I always find that it’s easier to mix the flour in by hand. Once it’s all mixed together you should have a nice dough. Turn it out onto a floured surface and roll it out until it is about 3 or 4 mm thick. Cut into whatever shapes you fancy. Bake in an oven at about gas mark 4 until golden. The time really depends on the size of the biscuits. Keep a close eye on them because they can turn very quickly.

Once cooled put jam on the rough side of one biscuit and sandwich it with another biscuit. Ice and enjoy!!

 

Leave a Reply

