“Make a list of important things to do today. At the top of your list, put “eat chocolate.” Now, you’ll get at least one thing done today.” – Gina Hayes

 

Today is mothers day and I would like to say a very happy mothers day to my lovely mum. My mum is a fantastic baker and there is little doubt that she gave me my baking skills.

So after having gone to the gym today I decided to make myself a little treat which was chocolate fairy cakes. I cal them fairy cakes they could also be cupcakes. Does anyone know the difference between a cupcake and a fairy cake?

My recipe is pretty simple. 4oz golder caster sugar, 4oz butter, 2 eggs, 3 oz self raising flour, 1 0z cocoa and 1tbsp of baking powder. If you’re pushed for time you can put them all in a bowl and mix it together. However I find you get a lighter fluffier cake if you break it up a bit. Cream the butter and sugar together using an electric whisk on a high setting. Add the eggs one at a time and whisk until light and fluffy. Add in the flour, cocoa and baking powder , I tend to mix  it briefly using a spatula before whisking this reduces the amount of flour that ends up on your work top. Whisk for about 30 secs using the electric whisk , the mixture should be a pale brown colour.

Divide into cupcake cases and cook for 15-20 mins at gas mark 5.

 

For the icing I wanted to try a recipe that I had seen in foodies magazine. You need 100g milk chocolate, 100g plain chocolate, 100g unsalted butter (softened), 1 and a half tbsp of milk, 2tbsp of cocoa, 1 cup icing sugar (I used half a mug) and 1tbsp of vanilla.  Roughly chop the chocolate and put in bowl over a pan of water to melt, stir regularly. Once melted take off the heat to cool. While it cools put the remaining ingredients into a bowl, mix with a spoon to start and then whisk for 30 secs using ane electric whisk. It should lighten in colour when you mix it. Add in the cooled chocolate and whisk for about a minute. Don’t whisk it for too long as it will get too thick and will be difficult to spread.

Spread over the cupcakes and decorate in anyway you like. I put white chocolate drops on mine.

Pour a cup of tea and enjoy with as many fairy/cup cakes as you want!!

 

Leave a Reply

