“Tea makes it possible to get out of bed. Cupcakes make it worthwhile.” ~ Unknown Author

I seem to be baking a lot at the moment. It does not bode well for my diet. I have lost over 2 stone in the last year and a half and am aiming to lose another half a stone in the next few months. The problem is that I love to bake. I find it really calming, strange I know because many people find it so stressful.

Anyway yesterday I made raspberry and white chocolate cupcakes. My sister and mum had made some last week and I wanted to try it. Unfortunately I didn’t have the recipe so I just tweaked my standard vanilla cup cake recipe.

So 4oz golden caster sugar, 4oz butter (softened), 4oz flour, 2 eggs, two handfuls of white chocolate chips, a tsp of vanilla extract and 3 tbsp of seedless raspberry jam.

Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, whisk the eggs in one at a time. Mix in the flour, white chocolate and vanilla. Then gently fold in the jam – you want it to look sort of swirled through.

Spoon into muffin cases and bake at gas mark 5 for roughly 15-20 minutes.

When they are golden take them out the oven. I then took a teaspoon of jam and poked (I’m sure there is a more technical term for it) it into the center of each cupcake.

For the icing I just added 100g of melted white chocolate to a standard butter cream recipe. I can’t give you exact quantities for this because I did it by guess work. Most boxes of icing sugar have a butter cream recipe on them. Spread on the cupcakes once they have cooled.

I then sprinkled white chocolate stars on the top. Enjoy with a cup of tea!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. fiona says:

    Were they good? The white chocolate is only in the icing for the ones we made.

    1. yes they tasted yummy! Even if the jam kinda sunk to the bottom!

Leave a Reply

