Diets, like clothes, should be tailored to you.- Joan Rivers

As I mentioned in a previous post I’m back on my diet. The problem is I still have a compulsion to bake. So I thought I would try weight watchers soda bread.  I love soda bread, I got a real taste for it when I lived in Ireland for a while. It is particularly good toasted with butter and a strong ish cheese – which of course on my diet I can’t have. Well I could have it but I would have to run for 20 mins to make up the points for it. It tastes good with marmalade also.

The recipe is much simpler than my usual soda bread recipe which includes buttermilk and eggs and an exceedingly sticky batter.

You need 100g wholemeal flour, 100g plain flour, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 bicarbonate of soda, 1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar, 1/2 tsp of sugar and about 100mls of skimmed milk. Mix all the dry ingredients together then add the milk slowly and mix. You want to get it to a soft workable dough. Shape into a round and cut a cross in the top (that’s for the fairies to escape from). Put in an oven at gas mark 6 to bake for 20 minutes. It’s ready when it’s golden and is hollow sounding when you tap the base.

Cut a slice and adorn with your topping of choice. As always serve with a cup of tea (if your being really authentic your tea should be super strong).

For those who are interested it’s about 2 propoints a slice (not including topping)

Leave a Reply

