#theyregrand

Some of you may know that I have been doing some voluntary work with Relationship Scotland . A fab charity who do great work. Part of their work has been recognising the important role that Grandparents play in their grandchildren’s lives. So as part of that tomorrow (13th of June) we will be celebrating grandparents on Twitter and I wanted to share some of my memories on my blog. They will be food related but I promise that normal service will resume shortly with a blog about my mums chocolate biscuit cheesecake (YUM).

Sadly none of my grandparents are still alive and most of my memories are from when I was very young. My Papa died before I was born but he and my Grandma Peggy used to run a Golf Club. Among the many tasks they did was the catering for the golf club. I can’t imagine how difficult that would be. Cooking dinner for more than 4 people sends me into a tizzy so I can’t imagine making Christmas Dinner for over 20 people. Clearly that skill has not passed down the generations. My Grandma Peggy lived in Australia when I was young. We went across to visit her when I was about 5 years old. One of my memories was that she had amazing chocolate wafer rolls, so I think she gave me my love of chocolate biscuits (that’s my story and I’m sticking to it).

My Grandma Irene and Grandpa Sam lived in Glasgow. I remember going to their house and pretending to tap dance in their kitchen, I think we had watched Singing in the Rain. Their garden was full of wonderful treats such as gooseberries and rhubarb. We would eat the rhubarb on its own simply dipped in sugar. My Gran would also eat raw lemons something which has been passed onto me. I also remember cups of sweet milky tea with Gold Biscuits dipped in them, truly delicious.

I often wonder what they would think of me today, I think they’d love my baking!

If you’d like to join with us to celebrate grandparents today it’s easy we will be tweeting using the hashtag #theyregrand and all you have to do is:

1. Tweeting a memory of your grandparents.

2.  Tweeting about what influence your grandparents had on you.

3. Tweeting about what it’s like to be a grandparent.

Relationship Scotland’s twitter username is @RelScot

Leave a Reply

